Healthy weekend

I made whole wheat chocolate cake from a recipe at whole grain gourmet I’ve been wanting to make for the last month. It turned out great!

From 100 Days of Real Food I’ve been making banana bread and made apple sauce for the first time (I had some mushy apples that turned out great!). The apple sauce can substitute for oil in many baking recipes and add moisture.

From Fresh 20 I made a nice pork, red cabbage and apple dish over brown rice. I want to make a version of the Bulgarian dish, свинско със зеле (svinsko sus zele). Today’s dish was Italian sausage with farfalle, but the variation was turkey sausage, sweet potato and kale ( instead of, say, broccoli rabe ). Quite nice, but I did feel the need to add a healthy splash of apple cider vinegar at the end because of the ( white ) sweet potato.

Lots of wine to round it out, and altogether a very healthy eating weekend, as well as quite enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

